Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Fleet Review at Spithead 1953

Follow this LINK for a Pathe film of the Coronation Fleet Review at Spithead in 1953. The days when we had a Navy!

16 Responses to Fleet Review at Spithead 1953

  1. Edward Tumber

    December 28, 2009 at 19:18

    Just watched a newsreel of the Spithead review 1953.I was aboard H.M.S.Starling on loan from H.M.S.Ganges as a trainee.

  2. Edward Tumber

    December 28, 2009 at 19:23

    It is sad that as the years have passed,our once formidable Navy has so dwindled.I served in the Royal Navy from February 1953 to October 1977 and am proud to have done so.

  3. Scouse Hargate

    December 31, 2009 at 07:06

    I served also from 1953, today I am well over 70 years of age and have lived in the Far East for more than 40 years, never in all my years, at home or abroad,
    have I ever seen such a display—-well done the RN and all others who participated——-al;so—-a bit of trivia——-which ship that participated in 1953— RN or otherwise—-is still in commission. I am also very proud of the fact that
    I was in the Mob during this time.

  4. Brian p Whale

    February 5, 2011 at 19:14

    I was onboard HMS VANGAURD that day a sea cadet sent from T S STIRLING in Birminham a memory of a young boy now 75 but still very important many a good time spent at H M S EXCELLENT also ended up in the scots gaurds also many good memories how sad when we hear of our carriers going as they are today

  5. William Derek Woolcock

    November 18, 2011 at 18:45

    I was the Electrical Officer aboard Destroyer HMS Zephyr at that Fleet Review in June 1953 and had the privilege of a flight over the assembled fleet two days before the great day June 15 th. A sight never to be forgotten

  6. Peter G Siddle

    June 1, 2012 at 12:08

    I served from 1952 t0 1961, witnessed the FLEET REVIEW at that time at HMS DOLPHIN , Gosport, and had the honour to act as host to crew members from visiting ships, ex Sweden, Brasil and India, talking their crews on coach trips to Winchester etc.

    I am incredibly proud to have served in the Queen’s Royal Navy, the finest NAVY in the world, with comradeship it is impossible to find elsewhere, God Bless Them All.

  7. William Chatterton

    June 2, 2012 at 11:17

    Having served my National Service in the Royal Navy and being a Naval Reserve I spent two weeks on board depot ship HMS Adamant helping to prepare her then steaming her out to Spithead. On the day of the review I was proud to be a member of the crew who cheered Her Majesty as HMS Surprise passed closeby. I was pleased to find the Pathe film of the review as the only record I have are some poor quality pictures I took with my box camera.

  8. 'Pincher'John Martin

    June 4, 2012 at 17:57

    I was serving on board HMS Virago as a 17 year old seaman and was present at Spithead cheering our lovely Queen as she sailed by in HMS Surprise. What a proud moment that was for us all. I applied to crew the Royal Yacht Brittania but unfortunatly like many others was unsuccessfull.However, now at 77 I can look back and say with immense pride that I served in Her Majesty’sNavy .

  9. Jim Littler

    October 24, 2012 at 20:25

    I was a 15 year old Sea Cadet drafted to HMS Perseus for the Review.
    My job on board was to sell programmes to guests who were seated on the flight deck.
    I still have 2 programmes with a layout of the fleet, and a letter from my uncle Peter who was on HMS Battleaxe and delivered before I left ship.
    Wonderful memories.

  10. peter wiffen

    February 1, 2014 at 21:04

    I was an Able seaman on H M S Corunna at the review I still have my certificate to show prove i was there signed by our captain Cdr. Kennard

  11. NORMAN SHARP

    June 23, 2014 at 20:13

    I WAS SERVING ON H.M.S PERSEUS AT SPITHEAD REVIEW I WILL BE 80 years OLD IN JANUARY 2015. REMEMBER IT WELL, STILL HAVE MY CERTIFICATE.

  12. Ron Coe RMBX2843

    July 19, 2014 at 19:47

    I was on HMS Swiftsure during the FLeet Review and would be pleased to hear from anyone who was on her.
    What a momentous day,

  13. alan Jones (Rev)

    January 24, 2015 at 11:01

    I stowed on board MTBGay Archer on the dress rehearsal for the review. 3 Gay Class were in line astern to be the length of the Queen’s ship I was not caught and remember it well today. The MTB Gay Archer is in Torquay Harbour this year 2015 and I saw her in July. It looks proud and worthy of the hard work done by Mr & Mrs Childs. I live in South Australia, but in 1953 lived in Worthing Sussex as a 20 yr old.

  14. Fred Foster

    March 11, 2015 at 19:40

    I did two and a half years on the Finisterre where I picked up my Killicks rate. Then about six months in the reserve fleet which was the Adamant and Liverpool tied together. My kip was on the cruiser.Later I was drafted to the Jutland as killick of 14 mess.During the review I was engine room watch for the afternoon and first and as a result never saw a bloody thing.I am now 83.
    I have written a book on the subject titled.
    Under Seven Rainbows.

    Cheers
    Fred Foster (Flash)

  15. Phil Grimson

    December 1, 2015 at 23:04

    I joined Superb in June at Spithead after she had just returned from Bermuda to attend the Queen’s Coronation Review and a few days later after the review found myself off to Bermuda to complete the second half of heer 53-53 cuise to the West Indies and the East coast of the USA, On my return I spent the next year aboard while she underwent a refit and after a couple of trial runs was off again on her 54-55 trip to the West Indiea and a round tour of South America before visiting the West Coast of the USA. had finished my hitch then and was de-mobbed in January 1956.Some adventure!

  16. william abercrombie

    April 24, 2016 at 16:53

    Was there on that occasion, a matter of splendor on that day, At that time I was a boy seaman from HMS Ganges. Been quite some changes since that event in the RN. While Briton and the United States of America are reducing their fire power other countries that are not particularly friends are building there’s, Economics may play a part, but, leadership and vision at the top seems to be sorely lacking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.